The Power of Mother Nature

Interior

I hadn’t eaten that evening.

I wasn’t hungry.

But toward midnight I began to feel peckish.

My stomach began to rumble.

I ignored it.

It was too late to eat.

I was online researching office chairs.

I needed to buy one.

Did my computer screen just move?

I suddenly felt dizzy.

Was it because I was hungry?

Wait a minute.

Did the ground just move under me?

I looked around the interior of my lounge.

Maybe I am really hungry.

I considered making something to eat.

Then I felt it again.

Ever so subtle.

TheĀ ground swaying gently beneath my feet.

I couldn’t believe what was happening.

I didn’t want to believe what was happening.

But then it stopped.

I immediately got on Facebook and posted “Did anyone else just feel that earthquake?”.

*This story relates to the magnitude 7.8 earthquake that occurred in Kaikoura on the South Island of New Zealand just after midnight on 14 November, 2016. This was my experience of this earthquake 530km away from where it hit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Power of Mother Nature

Leave a Reply

