The Laughing Gnome

Record

220px-Bowiegnome2

As a child, my very first vinyl record was a 45 rpm of David Bowie’s ‘The Laughing Gnome’ that I sung along to every day.

The lyrics are just mental…Lol!

I was walking down the high street
When I heard footsteps behind me
And there was a little old man 
In scarlet and grey, shuffling away 
Well he trotted back to my house
And he sat beside the telly 
With his tiny hands on his tummy
Chuckling away, laughing all day 

Oh, I ought to report you to the gnome office
Yes

Ha ha ha, hee hee hee
“I’m a laughing gnome and you don’t catch me”
Ha ha ha, hee hee hee
“I’m a laughing gnome and you can’t catch me”
Said the laughing gnome

Well I gave him roasted toadstools and a glass of dandelion wine 
Then I put him on a train to eastbourne
Carried his bag and gave him a fag
“here, where do you come from? “
“oh, really? “

In the morning when I woke up
He was sitting on the edge of my bed
With his brother whose name was fred
He’d bought him along to sing me a song

Right, let’s hear it
Here, what’s that clicking noise?
(that’s fred, he’s a “metrognome”, haha)

Ha ha ha, hee hee hee
“I’m a laughing gnome and you don’t catch me”
Ha ha ha, hee hee hee
“I’m a laughing gnome and you can’t catch me”

3 thoughts on “The Laughing Gnome

Leave a Reply

