I Didn’t Even Have a Sore Throat

hard_candy

Snack

Stomach rumbling,

trying to concentrate on the inspiring speech.

But my mind turns to why I didn’t have lunch.

Why I should have had lunch.

How I can’t wait to eat something.

Can people around me hear my tummy rumbling?

Will they think the noise is a quiet fart?

I reach into my handbag,

desperate to satisfy my hunger.

Chewing gum?

Candy?

Anything?

More fumbling.

Triumph! as I find a throat lozenge.

Freeing it from it’s paper restraint,

I pop the smooth round disc into my mouth.

“Mmmm!” even with its’ medicinal taste,

a throat lozenge never tasted so good.

One thought on “I Didn’t Even Have a Sore Throat

Leave a Reply

